Main Pages

Forums & Pictures

Find Out

About Us

Surveys & Archive

Members options

Personal

On Doing Science
Post new topic   Reply to topic   Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index n1cl-1 Dan Alter's forum

Dan
Site Admin

PostPost subject: On Doing Science
Posted: Fri May 04, 2007 12:40 pm

6-1--2006 Scientists try to create a theory that makes perfect predictions.
Ergo, the only path to 'perfect' theories must go through wrong predictions = our errors, first.
All theories begin and end with us. No wonder we don't like mirrors.

5-03-2007 Science is all about due process, just like democracy.

It is a trade, a craft, an art, an adventure.

I am lucky, I am self taught. A necessity given where science was and is at on Earth. Since I have children and I would like it if they choose to be scientists, this 'topic' is my attempt to teach them and anyone else who thinks about becoming a scientist some of what I have learned about my trade.

One thing I know for sure is that making a discovery, figuring out what is actually going on for the first time feels wonderful. I have felt it more than once. I have truly been blessed.

First rule: get to the edge between what we know and don't know, find a question, then step across the line with a prediction about how to answer it. Your off and running.

5-20-2007 Right now I am working on the dual origin coordinate system required to model a moebius. It has very interesting properties. I showed a young lady how it worked by showing her a moebius strip and explaining why you needed two origins to see each of the 'perpindicular pair points' that define our two sided surface. i.e. you can not see every point on surface from only one origin, at best just half.

The Riemann hypothesis seems relevant here. More later. The 'critical line' could be the edge of a moebius strip as defined from moebius equation. With dual origin coordinate system may explain Riemann's conjecture about complex plane.